On the occasion of the 100th birthday of Iannis Xenakis, the Bremen Percussion Ensemble commissions 3 generations of Greek composers in its homage. Grouped around the work Okho by Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001) are 4 world premieres by Georgia Koumará (1991), Petros Leivadas (1990), Irini Amargianaki (1980) and Dimitri Papageorgiou (1965).

The works were written as part of the Schlag>|<Art project of the Bremen Percussion Ensemble.

Performances in Germany

December 1st, Kulturkirche St. Stephani Bremen

December 3rd, Tonalisaal, Hamburg

December 6th, Unerhörte Musik, BKA Theater, Berlin


  • Iannis Xenakis 1922-2001 “Okho” (1989) for 3 percussionists
  • Irini Amargianaki *1980 “a lullaby for Xenakis” (2022) premiere for 4 percussionists
  • Georgia Koumará *1991 ” Perceptives on radical attention” (2022) premiere for 4 percussionists
  • Petros Leivadas *1990 “Night watches” (2022) UA for 4 percussionists
  • Dimitri Papageorgiou *1965 “Divagations” (2022) UA for 4 percussionists

Bremer Schlagzeugensemble