Tags

, ,

Guest composer at the University of Iowa, School of Music, 29/11/2016 – 04/12/2016

It was a great pleasure and a great honor to have been invited by the School of Music of the campus of the University of Iowa, as guest composer, for a series of events and master classes. During the past week (29/11/2016 – 04/12/2016), I have met for individual lessons with master and doctorate students of the composition program, presented my music at the Composers’ Seminar, rehearsed with the ensemble of the Center for New Music, and met with old and new friends.

I was glad to experience firsthand that the composition program, as well as the level of performance, have grown since the time I was a Ph.D. student here and I am in awe with the brand new, state of the art, Voxman Music Building (photos above), which was delivered in September of this year and is located right in the heart of downtown Iowa City.

Tonight, Sunday, December 4th, my short residency at Iowa is coming to a closure with the concert of the Center for New Music with David Gompper on the podium, featuring two of my compositions, as well as two compositions by Erin Gee, and works by John Berners and David Lang.

