Concerto Competition @BGSU


screen-shot-2016-12-15-at-5-05-29-%cf%80%ce%bcSaturday, December 10, 2016 | Bowling Green University, Ohio | Kobacker Hall

Adjudication of the Final Round of our 50th Annual Competition in Composition and Music Performance of the College of Musical Arts at Bowling Green University, Ohio.

A panel of five judges from outside BGSU sat in the center of the hall. Maybe a few more people, friends and fellow musicians, sat toward the back. The stage was starkly lit, and the only company performers had on stage was an accompanist and maybe a page turner for the accompanist.

The performers themselves had no pages to turn, no sheets of music to hide behind. They and their practicing over the past few months stood exposed.

Every year for the last 50 years, Bowling Green State University undergraduate and graduate students have stepped forward to exhibit their musical mastery.


  • Dr. William King, clarinet (UM, MOT)
  • Dr. Melissa Gerber Knecht, violin (Hillsdale)
  • Dr. Anthony Weikel, trombone (OSU DMA, Springfield Symphony)
  • Dr. Brad Blackham, piano (Hillsdale)
  • Dr. Minnita Daniel-Cox, soprano (U Dayton)
  • Dr. Dimitri Papageorgiou, compositon (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece)

Congratulations to the winners of the 50th Competition in Music Performance!

  • COMPOSITION division: Daniel Bayot, “The Philosophy of Wood”
  • UNDERGRADUATE division: Stephen Dubetz, clarinet; Michelle Whitmore, flute; honorable mention, Samantha Tartamella, flute
  • GRADUATE division: Kenneth Cox, flute; Peisi Luo, piano; honorable mention, Aldulfulyne Padmore, flute
  • Virginia Marks Collaborative Pianist Award winner: Jonathan Brian Guelfand

The four competition winners will perform their pieces with the Bowling Green Philharmonia at a Feb 25 concert in Kobacker.

dafir, through tacit cracks, “d’ogne luce auto” at the University of Nevada, Reno


Tuesday, December 6, 2016 | 7:30 PM | Rotunda in the IGT Knowledge Cent

An Evening of New Music
Papageorgiou, Perrotte, Caplovi

Performances by: UNR Contemporary Music Ensemble, Eric Fassbender, John Etsell, EEG and Computer.

Free; all are welcome.


Guest composer at UNR – Itenerary

Monday Dec. 5:

20:24 Arrival at RNO on UA296

Tuesday Dec. 6:

  •  9:00 – 10:00am Rehearsal in CFA 112
  •  noon – 1:00 Lunch
  •  1:00 – 1:30pm Masterclass CFA 111 (John Etsall Piano)
  •  1:30 – 2:00pm Masterclass CFA 111 (Bette Phillips)
  •  2:00 – 2:50pm Masterclass CFA 134 (Kira Meade)
  •  4:00 – 5:30pm Sushi w/ Gideon
  •  6:00 – 7:30pm set up the Rotunda

 7:30 – 8:30 Concert at Rotunda in the IGT Knowledge Cent

Wednesday Dec. 7

  •  9:00 – 10:00am Dr. Davis Theory class CFA 134. Presentation of music of the new generation of Greek composers: Stylianos Dimou and Zesses Seglias
  •  11:00 – 12:00pm Dr. Perrotte’s Theory class CFA 134. Interlocking and the reconstructive nature of memory. Presentation of my compositional techniques in my works In the Vestige of the Present
  • 12:00 – 1:00 Lunch
  •  2:00 – 4:00pm Dr. Perrotte’s Electronic Music class CFA 206.  Presentation of my algorithmic compositional techniques

Thursday Dec. 8

  •  11:30 – 12:20pm Masterclass CFA 111 (Jeff DePaoli)
  •  12:30 – 1:30 Lunch
  •  1:30 – 2:20pm Masterclass CFA 111 (Brandon Dodge)
  •  2:00 – 2:50pm Masterclass CFA 111 (Still Open)
  •  3:00 – 3:50pm Masterclass CFA 111 (Tim Chatwood)
  •  4:00 – 4:50pm Masterclass CFA 134 (Erik Flury)


Guest composer at alma mater Iowa.


, ,

Guest composer at the University of Iowa, School of Music, 29/11/2016 – 04/12/2016

It was a great pleasure and a great honor to have been invited by the School of Music of the campus of the University of Iowa, as guest composer, for a series of events and master classes. During the past week (29/11/2016 – 04/12/2016), I have met for individual lessons with master and doctorate students of the composition program, presented my music at the Composers’ Seminar, rehearsed with the ensemble of the Center for New Music, and met with old and new friends.

I was glad to experience firsthand that the composition program, as well as the level of performance, have grown since the time I was a Ph.D. student here and I am in awe with the brand new, state of the art, Voxman Music Building (photos above), which was delivered in September of this year and is located right in the heart of downtown Iowa City.

Tonight, Sunday, December 4th, my short residency at Iowa is coming to a closure with the concert of the Center for New Music with David Gompper on the podium, featuring two of my compositions, as well as two compositions by Erin Gee, and works by John Berners and David Lang.

CNM ensemble Iowa performs “In Pulses, in Strokes…” and Iriai no kane


John BERNERS. Divertimento (2008) for oboe, trombone and double bass

Courtney Miller, oboe; Dave Gier, trombone; Volkan Orhon, double bass

Erin GEE. Mouthpiece: Segment of the 4th Letter (2007)

Jeiran Hasanbass flute; Christine Burkeclarinet; Christine Augsburger, percussion; Elizabeth Upsonviola; Matthew Laughlinvioloncello; David Gompper, conductor

Dimitri PAPAGEORGIOU, “In pulses, in strokes…” (2012)

Anya Egense, flute; Christine Burkebass clarinet; Nicha Pimthongpiano; Benjamin; Yancey and Shelby Carney, percussion; Josh Palazzolo, violin; Matthew Laughlinvioloncello; David Gompper, conductor

— Intermission —

David LANG. Scraping Song

Ben Yancey, percussion

Erin GEE, Mouthpiece XIXc (2016)

Amanda DeBoer, soprano; Jeiran Hasanalto flute; Elizabeth Fleissner, oboe; Christine Burkebass clarinet; Christine Augspurger, percussion; Jenna Ferdon, violin; Matthew Laughlinvioloncello; David Gompper, conductor

Dimitri PAPAGEORGIOU, Iriai no kane (2007) for chamber orchestra

Laura Canelo Cohen, flute; Elizabeth Fleissner, oboe; Thiago Ancelmo De Souza, clarinet; Alex Widstrandbassoon; Ethan Brozkahorn; John Kenneth Gordertrumpet;
Robert Parkertrombone; Christine Augsburger and Peter Naughton, percussion; Leonardo Perez and Josh Palazzolo, violins; Elizabeth Upsonviola; Matthew Laughlinvioloncello; Nick Bowesdouble bass; David Gompper, conductor


Program booklet: som20161204a